Randy Newman readies new LP

Randy_newman
Randy Newman hopes to end his wait for an album of new material in 2007. The genius singer/songwriter told Billboard that he has
eight or nine songs "in the middle of" being written, which he says is
unusual.

"Usually I’ll start ’em and then finish them, one at a
time. Why that happened this time, I don’t know, but I’ve got three
done, I think, and six or seven more to do," he says. "I’d like to
maybe start recording some time this year… maybe get it out by the
spring of 2007."

Newman will be previewing some of the new songs on his imminent tour of North America and Canada.
Among them the newies is "Losing You" and "A Few Words in Defense
of My Country" debuted earlier this year in Europe. "It’s kind of an
odd song about how things are now, in my opinion," Newman says, though
he adds that direct political commentary is not a milieu he’s
comfortable with (despite the evergreen ‘Political Science)

"I haven’t done that more than two or three times in my life because
they don’t hold up," he explains. "The times change. I wrote something
about the first Gulf war called ‘Lines in the Sand’; that would work
now, again, just coincidentally, but it’s too specific."

Newman confesses that he hasn’t chosen a producer yet, as he usually whistles through the recording process. He also acknowledged how he’s caught on the hop by how long it’s been since his last recorded outing.

"It’s always too long, I think I should’ve tried to
develop more of a liking for the studio. I don’t like it in there much,
the way some people do. But the possibilities for the studio, which are
immense, I’ve never explored that much. Another thing I regret is I
haven’t put out more work. Elton John made five records while I was
watching ‘Monday Night Football.’ I wish I’d done more, but there’s
nothing I can do about it."

To hear some past shows of Randy’s, click this link to his official site

Mof Gimmers

Leave a Reply

